French school holidays for 2023 – 2024

French school holiday zones

WITH summer coming to an end, and la rentrée fast approaching, school children will soon be heading back to class with the doors opening on Monday 4 September, 2023.

The school holiday dates for the year are outlined below, and while the dates mention Saturday that is for the last date should lessons take place, in most cases it will be the Friday the day before that school finishes.

Vacances de la Toussaint 2023

End of class, Saturday 21 October, 2023
Start day, Monday 6 November, 2022

Vacances de Noël 2023

End of class, Saturday 23 December, 2023
Start day, Monday 8 January, 2024

A key feature of the calendrier scolaire is the different dates for holidays amongst the different educational zones in France.

The origin of the three zones in France

The three distinct zones when it comes to the dates of when classes break up are:

Zone A: Académies de Besançon, Bordeaux, Clermont-Ferrand, Dijon, Grenoble, Limoges, Lyon, Poitiers

Zone B: Académies d’Aix-Marseille, Amiens, Lille, Nancy-Metz, Nantes, Nice, Normandie, Orléans-Tours, Reims, Rennes, Strasbourg

Zone C: Académies de Créteil, Montpellier, Paris, Toulouse, Versailles

And the division of schools regions comes into play during the mid-winter and Easter holidays.

FranceZone AZone BArea CCorsica
Back to schoolMonday 4 September 2023Tuesday, September 5, 2023
Holidays of All Saints’ DayFrom Saturday, October 21, to Monday, November 6, 2023
Christmas holidaysFrom Saturday, December 23, 2023 to Monday, January 8, 2024
Winter holidaysFrom Saturday, February 17 to Monday, March 4, 2024From Saturday, February 24, to Monday, March 11, 2024From Saturday, February 10, to Monday, February 26, 2024From Saturday, February 24, to Monday, March 11, 2024
Spring holidaysFrom Saturday, April 13, to Monday, April 29, 2024From Saturday, April 20, to Monday, May 6, 2024From Saturday, April 6, to Monday, April 22, 2024From Saturday, April 27, to Tuesday, May 13, 2024
Summer holidaysSaturday, July 6, 2024
School holidays 2023-2024

Last Updated on 23 March, 2024.

Published
Categorised as Education

By Craig McGinty

Thank you for reading This French Life, join me in living life the French way and sign up to the free newsletter.